On Thursday 20th March, Chris, Erin and Alex Harris from ECOM attended the Upper Namoi Cotton Grower Awards Dinner held in Gunnedah at the Rugby Club. It was a well attended evening with close to 100 people present. At times, these events can attract a lot of industry representatives but lacking in grower numbers. This was an exception. The grower attendance was very strong and both dryland growers from the southern corner through to irrigators in the upper were present.

The Winners categories were broken down into Dryland Crop of the Year, Irrigated Crop of the Year, Innovative Grower of the Year, and Grower of the Year. The judges visited each crop and they reported that the calibre of the entrants made judging very close and it was a matter of splitting hairs.

The dryland entrants were:

Alex & Graeme Norman

Scott & Jo McCalman
David Ronald

The winner of the dryland crop for 2013/2014 was David Ronald from Spring Ridge.

The irrigated crop entrants were:

Andrew Watson
Andrew Ruhmann & Phil Morgan
Mark & Glenys Hamblin
Peter & Georgia Watson
Rod Smith & Nic Gardiner
Scott Morgan

The winner for this category was Mark Hamblin.

Innovative Grower of the Year was Scott Morgan, for his work on water and energy efficiency and solar powered pump set-up which looks quite impressive.

The grower of the Year was Andrew Ruhmann from Morcot Farm Pty Ltd.

A big congratulations to all the winners. The Association will hold a field day next week (Tuesday 1st April) to visit some of these properties to look at soil health and fertility, remote monitoring devices for soil moisture, bores, water levels and watering options (lateral and flood). If you are interested in attending, please contact Sandy at Cotton Australia on 0448 094 8830448 094 883 by today, 28th March for catering and transport purposes.